Padma Awards 2021: President Ram Nath Kovind presents Padma Awards at Rashtrapati Bhawan
Top Story MilkywayBlogs 15-Nov-2021 Comments (7) 15

Padma Awards 2021: President Ram Nath Kovind presents Padma Awards at Rashtrapati Bhawan

President of India Ram Nath Kovind presented Padma Awards 2021 to 119 people at a grand ceremony that was recently held at the Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi.

The list of Padma Awards this year comprises 10 Padma Bhushan awards, 7 Padma Vibhushan awards, and 102 Padma Shri awards. Of these recipients, 29 are women, 16 are posthumous, and one is transgender.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, Union Minister of External Affairs S Jaishankar, and Union Home Minister Amit Shah were among those who attended the event at Rashtrapati Bhawan.

Padma Award is one of the top civilian honors of India that is annually announced on Republic Day. These Awards are distributed in three categories that are Padma Bhushan (for distinguished service of higher-order), Padma Vibhushan (exceptional or distinguished service), and Padma Shri (for distinguished service). 

The List of Some Padma Award Recipients is Here:

• Former union ministers George Fernandes and Arun Jaitley (both posthumous) were awarded the Padma Vibhushan Award.

• Padma Bhushan awards conferred to social worker Dr. Anil Prakash Joshi, P V Sindhu (badminton player), Dr. SC Jamir for their contribution to public affairs, and Mumtaz Ali for spiritualism.

• Pandit Chhannulal Mishra (Classical Singer from India) received Padma Vibhushan which is the country’s second-highest civilian honor. Pandit Chhannulal Mishra was previously honored with the Padma Bhushan award and Sangeet Natak Akademi Award in the years 2010 and 2000.

• Sushma Swaraj (former minister of external affairs) was also honoured with Padma Vibhushan Award posthumously. Sushma Swaraj has been passed away due to cardiac arrest on August 6, 2019.

• Dr. Padma Bandopadhyay (Air Marshal) received the Padma Shri award which represents the country’s fourth-highest civilian honour. Bandopadhyay was the first woman who has been promoted as Air Marshal in Indian Air Force.

• Other awardees of the Padma Shri award this year also involved from the world of arts. It includes Ekta Kapoor, Karan Johar, film and television actress Sarita Joshi, and late singer SP Balasubramaniam.

• Well-known singer Adnan Sami and actor Kangana Ranaut also received the Padma Shri award at this event.

• Rani Rampal (captain of the women’s hockey team) was honoured with Padma Shri Award. She had led the women’s hockey team in Olympics 2020 in Tokyo, this year.

• Padma Shri awards were conferred on Harekala Hajabba for their social work. He saved money from his business vendor and use it to build a school in his village Mangalore (Karnataka).

• Dr. Raman Gangakhedkar (a former scientist who worked at the Indian Council of Medical Research) was conferred with Padma Shri. Dr. Raman Gangakhedkar is now a part of the expert group at WHO (World Health Organisation) tasking to probe the origins of Covid-19.

• Suresh Wadkar (Veteran Singer) was honoured with the Padma Shri Award. “It feels really special to receive the award under the tenure of Modi Ji and President Ram Nath Kovind Ji… I have been waiting for a long time to get this award and now I have finally received it,” Suresh Wadkar told to ANI.

• Padma Shri award was also conferred on the renowned litterateur of the Santali language writer Damayanti Beshra.

Leave A Reviews

7 thoughts on “Padma Awards 2021: President Ram Nath Kovind presents Padma Awards at Rashtrapati Bhawan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *